Home » Archive

Articles in the education Category

education, rant »

[8 Sep 2008 | 3 Comments | 224 views]

This is exactly what life is about. You get a paycheck every two weeks. We’re preparing children for life.
That would be Michelle Rhee, Washington DC’s school chancellor, providing her rationale for pilot program this fall that will pay kids for showing up, behaving and getting good grades.  Apparently this idea is getting increasing support (like in NYC) and it’s reasonable to expect that nothing good will come of it.  After all, rewards don’t work.  And I can’t imagine that kids without bills and mortgages would give a hoot about a …

education, unschooling »

[12 May 2008 | Comments Off | 179 views]

This was fantastic to listen to.  I’ve no idea who Sir Ken Robinson is (and haven’t the time to Google), but he’s right-on.

education, nature »

[20 Feb 2008 | Comments Off | 229 views]

Don’t forget that there’s a full lunar eclipse tonight, which should be visible all throughout the Americas. Hopefully, the weather will cooperate for you – it’s iffy for us with ‘Mostly cloudy during the early evening, then gradual clearing.’ Here are the relevant times with US time zones:
Partial eclipse begins: 1:43 Universal Time (UT) Feb. 21.
For continental U.S. time zones, the partial ecilpse begins the evening of Feb. 20.
8:43 p.m. EST
7:43 p.m. CST
6:43 p.m. MST
5:43 p.m. PST
Total eclipse (totality) begins: 3:01 UT on Feb. 21.
For continental U.S. …

costa rica, education, learning Spanish, online resources, travel »

[23 Sep 2007 | Comments Off | 193 views]

To prepare for the eventual move to Costa Rica, we need to learn Spanish, which rocks since it’s a perfect example of self-directed learning. Why should the kids have all the fun? Our library system has been a great help since we can try different books and resources to see what gels with us. We started with library books for the kids, since it would be a fun way for all of us to learn together.
Our current reading includes Senor Felipe’s Alphabet Adventure, about a photographer whose …

education, homeschooling, list, unschooling »

[12 May 2007 | Comments Off | 176 views]

Unschooling isn’t all about the kids – it’s about us too.  Our attitudes and perceptions and, what’s become very apparent to me, our own desire and capacity for learning.  One of my main supporting points for being an unschooler was that I taught myself everything I know for my work.  I realized that I wanted to learn something and followed my desire. I also have memories of enjoying learning in school until it became drudgery.  I like learning, and it seemingly was dulled out of me for years.  Now I …