Home » Archive

Articles in the nature Category

family, natural birth, nature, spirituality, the great outdoors »

[7 Sep 2008 | Comments Off | 342 views]

has Trish been?
I guess I can answer that one.
We’ve had a great summer, so far. I know it’s almost over, but we have high hopes that we will be back to Costa Rica by sometime after Christmas and will be enjoying the warm sunny weather again.
We’ve been:

Attending my sister’s wedding
Still trying to sell this darn house
Going on a wonderful camping trip to the old campgrounds that I visited annually as a child. Here’s some pictures…

hiking, nature, snakes, wildlife »

[11 Jul 2008 | 3 Comments | 242 views]

Sliver
Originally uploaded by Alyoshka

Today we took a hike up our mountain to eat some wild blueberries we found last week and ran into an awesome surprise – a timber rattler! We’ve known about them ever since we moved here but never saw one until now. Trish caught some movement out of the corner of her eye, right along a log. She thought it was a chipmunk and had trouble seeing it until it moved again 5 seconds later.
It was absolutely brilliant and looked exactly like the one …

education, nature »

[20 Feb 2008 | Comments Off | 230 views]

Don’t forget that there’s a full lunar eclipse tonight, which should be visible all throughout the Americas. Hopefully, the weather will cooperate for you – it’s iffy for us with ‘Mostly cloudy during the early evening, then gradual clearing.’ Here are the relevant times with US time zones:
Partial eclipse begins: 1:43 Universal Time (UT) Feb. 21.
For continental U.S. time zones, the partial ecilpse begins the evening of Feb. 20.
8:43 p.m. EST
7:43 p.m. CST
6:43 p.m. MST
5:43 p.m. PST
Total eclipse (totality) begins: 3:01 UT on Feb. 21.
For continental U.S. …

costa rica, nature, photos, travel »

[5 Feb 2008 | Comments Off | 307 views]

I get the feeling we’ll never document our whole Costa Rican trip here, but I’m pretty happy with the memories and feelings that are still so vivid in my mind. We do have a lot of pictures I’d like to share, so here are a selection of all the neat creatures we saw on the Caribbean coast.
Missing are the two fishes I saw in the ocean (a needlefish and some sort of a light blue grouper), lots of humingbirds and two awesome brown pelicans that we saw at …

costa rica, nature, travel, video »

[23 Jan 2008 | 3 Comments | 422 views]

Since sunrise and sunset don’t vary in time like the US, we got used to going to bed around 8-9pm and waking up around 5-6am. One night I was woken by the sound of rustling branches, and being utterly paranoid, I thought perhaps there were some opportunistic stoners looking for some free clothes or something. I was proven wrong at 4.30am when the howling started, and man – howler monkeys are LOUD. It’s more of a roar than a howl, and travels for up to 3 miles.